Decluttering The Garage

423831014901613308_QZsS3SIK_c

Here is my inspiration:

This picture speaks volumes to me. The peg board, the shelf above the door, the recycling area, a stool! I know I have many other things I am attempting to do at the moment, but our garage is scary, actually the pictures that I did take are better than what it looked like 2 days ago. It was necessary that I clear a walk way. In order to do laundry etc. Usually it’s either too hot, or too cold for me to get out there and sort everything out. Lately the holidays have taken over my mind and spirit and I’ve literally thrown things out into the garage from our inside door. Just threw stuff, and things just kept piling up.

I know that the after effects of being clutter free are extremely rewarding when it’s time to clean a room out. Afterwards I will lean against my doorway and just stare at the turn out. Usually I’ll lay in the middle of the floor and just relax in the cleanliness and stress free area of our home, knowing that every detail has been sorted out and everything in the room is necessary and meant to be there, and all of the junk is gone. At least for that moment I know that.

So here I go, the next few pictures are the before. Embarrassing for sure, and a realization that now is the time.

100_0769

Ahh!!!!

100_0771

Ahhhhhh!!!!!

As you can see once upon a time things were organized. I do have labels to know where things are, and I even bought a couple of shelves. But that’s as far as it goes. This garage has been sorted out and cleared probably 3 or 4 times since we moved here as renters back in the fall of 2008. and each time we kept it clear for a good while. Now that we own the home, I am glad that I can invest in tools to make this place super organized, things like shelves that you have to hang on the wall. Because before nothing was allowed, I am ready to clean this place so clean that we could live in here without fear of spiders etc.

This time of year I’ve noticed are when all plastic tubs and outdoor shelves go on sale. I have many ideas thanks to pinterest, but for the time being  and working on keeping a budget. I will work on sorting out my belongings, that costs nothing. Need, Throw Away, Give Away/Garage Sale worthy. I plan to have a garage sale ready to go as soon as spring time weather arrives. So that will give me plenty of time to find a home for things we would like to give away. Time to throw out as much as possible. They say follow a 12 month rule. If you haven’t used it in a year throw it out. That will be a challenge, because you always think that what if I will need it in the future, but I’m gonna be strong and let things go.

As every year at this time we say that next year is going to be different, and 9 times out of 10 things aren’t different. I never want to be a broken record, and there are things I’ve wanted to change or do differently and I’ve failed miserably. But the point of aspiring to be better, isn’t a yearly resolution, it’s an everyday resolution.

Its a new dawn, its a new day, its a new life for me yeah,

its a new dawn its a new day its a new life for me ooooooooh

AND I’M FEELING GOOD

Leave a Reply

